Experiments in Health and Wellness

by a Human In Recovery

June 2013: 28 Days To A New Me – Round 2, Day 10

on June 13, 2013

Since it’s been over two weeks since my last post, the few of you who have been following this journey of mine may be wondering whether I’m sticking with my program. Let me assure you that I am. As a matter of fact, it’s part of the reason I’m not posting here or on my Human In Recovery blog more frequently. The other two factors are lack of regular access to a functional computer and that I’m battling life circumstances and mental health symptoms, which make using my phone to blog even more of a challenge than normal.

I’m posting a bit more regularly on my Human In Recovery FB page and the apps I’m using to track exercise and nutrition are tweeting @HumanInRecovery – I think. Twitter and I remain mere acquaintances instead of social confidants, so I’m not really much of a tweeter. I have also been uploading short videos onto the Human In Recovery YouTube channel. I’ve missed posting days 6, 7, & 9 (nothing recorded for day 8), but I’m working on getting those put together and posted soon.

June has been more challenging for me, all the way around, in most areas of my life.

During May, I still had my adult daughter and her boyfriend staying here, so it was easy for me to just go walking or swimming while everyone else was still sleeping, secure in the knowledge that my 4 year old was safe and cared for while I focused in self-care. They moved out a week and a half ago.

When the 28 Days began in May, my SO was out on the road doing his long-haul truck driving job, so, I had a routine established for meeting my daily 15 minutes of physical activity goal in place when he came home. Since we only get to have him home less than a week every four weeks or so, it’s a pretty high priority that as much time and attention as possible are given to him, our relationship and our family. Therefore, when he wound up home a week early, due to the foibles of his previous co-driver followed by the transition to another new co-driver whose home time was already scheduled, it was during the beginning if June’s 28 Days.

In addition to that, there is the added stress of what amounts to four months of extended home times combined with shortened road times because of co-driver turnover (he’s with his fourth co-driver and third fleet manager since February) and the financial strain of it all is reaching crisis proportions: we’re facing potential eviction, service interruptions, and loss of property in a storage unit because we haven’t been able to stay caught up on bills or save ahead for rent. Anxiety and frustration over these things shortens his fuse and disrupts my sleep, increasing our relational stress and the symptoms of my fibromyalgia and depression/hypomania.

Two thirds of the way through May our laptop got broken and there’s no money for replacement or repair. The hand-me-down, hand-me-over, XP laptop that was given to me has a third party wifi administration app that won’t accept alpha characters in the access key to our internet, which is one of the services that could get interrupted at any moment.

On top of it all, even knowing all of this was looming on June’s horizon, I thought it would be a fabulous idea to increase my commitment to an hour’s worth of exercise daily AND track all of my eating. Meaning that just as every situation and circumstance that triggers my binge eating, I committed to go public with a record of what I eat, at the same time as I lose the regular Childcare to enable me to exercise goes away I make a greater commitment to exercise EVERY DAY.

Now that I think about it, I can see this is part of an overall lifetime pattern of self-sabotage. I’ll have to chew on that one a bit and process it on my main blog.

Not all is doom and gloom though. I have some really good things to report.

1) I have completed daily food and activity logs, using My Fitness Pal, which is available in app form and online, with interfaces to Facebook and Twitter.

2) With the exception of Monday of this week, June 11th, I have been in motion a minimum of 1-2 hrs. everyday and logging/recording my walking and swimming activities with the Map My Walk app (also available online and with other social media interfaces).

3) I’m having my little girl be more physically active by walking with me and I’ve taken her swimming twice in the past week.

4) I’m getting more consistent with housekeeping!

5) I’ve lost three more lbs. in June, so far, for a total of 11 lbs. missing in the past month.

6) My sleep is improving, my pain is decreasing, my stamina is increasing, and my moods are leveling out.

7) I’m doing a better job at connecting with other people, not just to get support and encouragement, but to offer it as well.

8) I don’t spend nearly as much time on the couch or in front of the television as I used to.

9) The way I feel about and treat my body is less negative and more constructive. I’m less averse to my reflection than I used to be.

10) For the first time in an incredibly long time, my emotional reactions and responses aren’t at the mercy and whim of the emotions, words, and actions of those around me and I’m able to be less defensive, more intentional, and grounded in my interpersonal interactions.

Committing to the daily actions of the 28 Days To A New Me process in the midst of everything is one of the most challenging things I’ve done for myself in the last 23 years. It reminds me of the 12 Step meeting closing mantra:

“Keep coming back. It works, if you work it. So, work it because you’re worth it!”

3 responses to “June 2013: 28 Days To A New Me – Round 2, Day 10

  1. Reblogged this on Human In Recovery and commented:

    For those who may have been missing my posts, This is some of what I’ve been up to.

    I have several posts, between both blogs, which have been started and not finished for various reasons. Not having the ability to just log onto a computer and internet with a full-size keyboard in the wee hours being the biggest reason.

    I have to admit that I am SERIOUSLY missing blogging as both my creative and mental health outlet and I feel the effects of not writing consistently. I really need to work on scheduling, logistics, and time management so I can do this aspect of my self-care.

    In the meantime, I want to thank all my faithful readers for sticking by me and welcome the series of new readers who chose to follow me during this fallow period.

    I have put a call out to several groups of bloggers on Facebook with an invitation to guest blog. I would like to open that up to my fellow bloggers here as well. Leave a comment if you are interested in doing a guest post, on any if the following or pitch me an idea:
    • 12 Step Recovery
    • Tools of healing and recovery
    • Healthy and constructive strategies for symptom management, regarding any physical or mental health diagnosis
    • Effective ways to apply good coping strategies
    • Personal anecdotes regarding the realities of living with and working through chronic and difficult physical/mental health conditions

    I look forward to hearing from you!

    Blessings,
    Kina

  2. robertkennedy3 says:

    Kina,

    Kudos to you on your hard work and commitment to yourself. I know that things are not easy. But, as you are seeing, when you choose yourself, there is always a way through. I do have one thought. You make the rules for your game. If you are overwhelmed at any point, don’t quit your commitment. Simply, change it. That is ok. If I am physically unable to lift 700 lbs, then I modify to something challenging, yet manageable, maybe 175 :-).

    You are an inspiration. Keep going.

    • Thank you Robert! I appreciate the encouragement and the advice. I truly appreciate your generous use of your gifts and skills as a coach, instructor, and encourager. Meeting you, learning about the 28 Days commitment, and becoming actively engaged with the 28 Days community, has been the catalyst and support network I’ve needed to successfully and effectively move my personal healing and recovery journey from thought, decision, and evaluation into consistent, constructive action.

      Blessings,
      Kina

Leave a Reply

