Experiments in Health and Wellness

by a Human In Recovery

28 Days to a New Me: Days 10 – 13 – CPR

on May 13, 2013

It feels like it’s been a lot longer than four or five days since I blogged about my 28 Days to a New Me: A Journey of commitment.

In the past, not posting would have been a sign that I had given up and stopped trying. This time it is completely different. I may not have been posting proof here, but I have been following through with my commitment and I have been posting my proofs in the Facebook accountability group.

I’m not going to lie, I was struggling mentally and emotionally, especially yesterday – Mother’s Day. However, I was able to push through, and even stepped it up a bit.

Here are the updates from the 10th through today, the 13th – almost halfway through!

Day 10 – Walked 40 minutes on a 2 mile round trip. On the return trip, I paused the stopwatch to meet James & Milla. James was fixing up an old roto tiller to help a neighbor lady with her community garden plot. He also seems to be the neighborhood “go to” guy. Milla lives across the street from James and was asking him if he knew someone who could install her new window A/C. She’s from Romania. Go Team FORCE

20130513-094801.jpg

Day 11 – Shabbat shalom to those celebrating the Sabbath & happy Saturday to everyone else. Adapt & Overcome is today’s encouraging advice to those experiencing that pesky resistance.

I couldn’t walk this morning since I didn’t have anyone here to be with my little girl while she slept. Also, I was really tired from waking up several times during the night – partly due to late night folks heading home from local hipster venues that have little or no parking, so the patrons park in the neighborhood. The warm weather means windows open at night and I get to hear their conversations. Yay.

So, instead of going back to bed, the way I wanted to, I did a little CPR. I gathered laundry, straightened the living room, and washed dishes. Three trips up & down the stairs and 1.5 hours later: dishes are done, one load of laundry each in the wash & in the dryer, the dishes are air drying, and the counters are wiped down.

Time to get ready to head to church.

My daughter and I just met little Laurel (22 mos) & her mommy, Tam. They had already been out and about to the local Farmer’s Market this morning and were on their way home. It’s not even 9:30 a.m. here! Aurelia is currently an only child.

20130513-095442.jpg

20130513-095515.jpg

Day 11 (Yes, I lost track and it was actually Day 12): Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms. I got a late start this morning. Feeling melancholy and unmotivated. I went to the Community Center across the street and did 30 minutes on the elliptical – Interval program. Wasn’t sure I could make myself do the full 30 minutes, even with my music pumping in my ears.

While I was there, this other lady came in wearing two medical boots. After the super-energetic lady next to me left, this other lady got onto the machine next to me. She glanced in my direction and we exchanged smiles.

So, I took my headphones off and asked about the boots. She has severe tendinitis in both Achilles’ tendons and has to wear the boots for four months.

Her name is Amy and she was diagnosed with fibromyalgia 8 years ago. She’s on leave from her part-time job teaching graphic design at a local high school.

I got her number so we might be able to become workout partners.

20130513-100546.jpg

When I woke up on Day 12 and saw all the Mother’s Day posts on Facebook, I experienced some grief and depression. I cried some and I wrote about my connection, or lack thereof, to this day of celebrating mothers. I was feeling foggy and fatigued. I had to force myself out of bed and into my workout attire. The resistance was VERY strong.

But, I was able to push through it and come out on the other side. The rest of the day I was still out of sorts and wound up with a headache and watched several episodes of Bar Rescue, which was enlightening. I napped some and later went to dinner with my daughters and the boyfriend of my oldest daughter.

Financial stress and conflict over it reared its head between me and my life-mate, via text. So, a few more tears happened. Even though that sucked, it was a constructive experience because it didn’t sink me into the depths of the inner darkness – which has been my norm for too many years.

I ended the evening by working with my daughter and her boyfriend to clean and organize the apartment in preparation for Keith’s arrival for his home time break from driving long-haul. I felt good. So, when I woke up this morning, I was energized and motivated again.

Day 13: I HIT IT! 30 minutes on the elliptical at varied resistance with a five minute cool down. Followed by 50 minutes in the pool, 20 minutes of self-paced water aerobics while I met Rebecca who is expecting her second child in a couple of weeks. She works in human resources and her husband teaches German, fifth-grade, at the German-American school. He is going to take a year off from teaching to stay home with the baby. They have a four-year-old daughter. They don’t know what the gender of the baby is and they haven’t told anybody the names they have picked out. When the lap lane open I swam laps for 30 minutes. Go. Team. FORCE

20130513-103430.jpg

Here’s what I’ve learned and where I’m at in this part of my journey:

Calling out to my fellow Team FORCE members: Last week, several of us were hammered with resistance.

We were counseled on CPR:
Commitment
Persistence
Responsibility

Well, I have some other words for CPR, and some quotes I hope will inspire and encourage you:

Consistency – “I pray to be like the ocean, with soft currents, maybe waves at times. More and more, I want the consistency rather than the highs and the lows.” ~ Drew Barrymore

Perseverance – “Life is not easy for any of us. But what of that? We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves. We must believe that we are gifted for something and that this thing must be attained.” ~ Marie Curie

Resolve – “Determination gives you the resolve to keep going in spite of the roadblocks that lay before you.” ~ Denis Waitley

(All quotes from Brainy Quote)

The FORCE of our resolve to develop healthier habits of thought and action cause us to persevere in the face of resistance of all kinds, enabling us to consistently choose the path toward achieving our goals and dreams.

As we do this we begin to move through and release the fears that may have been holding us back and keeping us from staining focused on our commitment to persistently work toward our goals and hindering our ability to accept and take responsibility for creating our own happiness.

5 responses to “28 Days to a New Me: Days 10 – 13 – CPR

  1. I love your writing very good. I think it is good for people to see that all of us struggle.

    • Kris,
      Thank you so much! I’m glad you made it here and that you enjoyed it. Your friendship has enhanced my journey and I appreciate you being in my life.

      Blessings,
      Kina

  2. Lori says:

    Kina wow that is just awesome. I love your writing also it gives off a lot of hope and positive energy

  3. […] 28 Days to a New Me: Days 10 – 13 – CPR May […]

Leave a Reply

