Experiments in Health and Wellness

by a Human In Recovery

28 Days to a New Me: Day Seven – Shifting focus (lessons from week one)

on May 8, 2013

It’s the end of my first full seven days on this 28 Day to a New Me journey of commitment and accountability. YAY! I made it and survived.

Truthfully? I’ve done more than survive, I have thrived! Although, if I would have been asked last night how I was feeling, I might not have said I was doing more than surviving.

In today’s video I shared that I had a realization about weighing myself at the end of the day, metaphorically speaking. I shouldn’t do it. Just as conventional wisdom says not to weigh oneself at night because the accummulation from the day can cause the numbers on the scale to be higher than in the morning, weighing myself and measuring how “well” I did throughout the day, often is filtered through the accumulation of fatigue, remnant negativity from adverse encounters, unresolved frustrations, etc. Since a good night’s sleep for me us typically 4 -6 hours in length and my average night’s sleep for the past 20+ years is generally closer to 4 hours a night, usually interrupted, if I wait until I’m near exhaustion to evaluate how my day went, my perspective is skewed toward the negative.

Today’s email from the Author of the just published e-book, 28 Days to a New Me: A Journey of Commitment, Robert Kennedy III, had this to say:

“You are almost complete with your first week and you may be tempted to look back to see how much you accomplished.  Well, take a moment and do that.  Great, that’s enough :-).  Looking back is necessary but since we are forming habits, we don’t want you to get in the habit of looking back.  We want you to take those lessons, good or bad, and then move into your action for today.”

In my video for today I stated that I am shifting my focus and instead of evaluating how well or not well I feel the day went, I’m going to do a gratitude list. I have decided to make this post a summary of my lessons learned from these seven days and be grateful for every lesson.

1) Starting from a position of fear and self-doubt caused me to set the bar too low and to expect too little of myself. I’m far more capable, innovative, creative, and interesting than I ever gave myself credit for.

2) Not valuing myself and my needs meant that I was always prioritizing everyone and everything else. Taking the transitional “baby step” to attach doing something for me with doing something else I saw as a priority was the primer needed to start my engine and get going on taking care of me, for me.

3) Being so caught up in my own lack, pain, and overwhelm created a wall of insulated isolation between myself and others. Conciously and consistently making the effort to encourage others and being mindful of how sharing my journey can benefit them, sends that encouragement back to me. Just like in the kids’ song, Love is Like a BoomerangLove is like a boomerang, and all you have to do is send your love around the world and love comes back to you.

4) Newton’s First Law of MotionAn object at rest remains at rest unless acted upon by a force. An object in motion remains in motion, and at a constant velocity, unless acted upon by a force. (Thank you Wikipedia). I was a body at rest and the force that acted on me was the force of change wrought by engaging in a community of encouragement, support, and engagement with other people who were in motion, pursuing their dreams.

5) Pain and resistance are not meant to be avoided, they are meant to be used to propel you in a new direction and strengthen you. Pain indicates a change is needed, resistence is also known as strength training. Instead of defining myself by my pain I am learning from it. Instead of absorbing the resistance and becoming immovable, I’m pushing against the resistance and getting stronger.

6) Setting an intention, then taking steps to make it happen, will manifest change. For example: Last night, I was completely frustrated, exhausted, and at the end of my limits – or so I thought. I attended part one of a two night meeting and by the end of it, I was completely NOT wanting to attend the one tonight. However, by setting my intention to shift my focus today and seek gratitude, I made different choices throughout the day. By the time the meeting came around, I was open, relaxed, and engaged. I came out of the meeting feeling the same way as when I went into it.

7) Strangers are friends we haven’t met yet. 

911984_571627126210524_882005881_n

At some point, I will expound on these lessons. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy today’s video. Thank you for joining me on my journey.

One response to “28 Days to a New Me: Day Seven – Shifting focus (lessons from week one)

  1. […] 28 Days to a New Me: Day Seven – Shifting focus (lessons from week one) (experimentsinhealthandfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

